Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Super Nintendo Entertainment System

Platform »

The Super Nintendo Entertainment System was the second home console released by Nintendo.

Powering a SNES with a USB (5v 2.4a) battery

coolhand1979

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

The short story:

I'd like to power my SNES with a USB battery. I believe this could be possible because:

SNES draws 9v 1.3a (11.7 watts max)

USB battery outputs 5v 2.4a (12 watts max)

this adapter transforms USB 5v to 9v with no loss of amps/overall-wattage:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/112143928032

So, in theory, this should allow me to power a SNES with a USB battery charger. What do you guys think?

I'm no electrician, but the adapter I've listed above says it will output 9v and 1.5a (max). Now will that 1.5a overpower the SNES (which takes 1.3a)? Also, the listing claims a maximum of 15w, but that is impossible by my maths, as you cannot turn a 12w USB power source into a 15w output...

the long story. why do this?:

Because I live in Thailand (I own a video-game animation outsourcing company in Bangkok). Now the power in Thailand is nearly always un-earthed, and can be quite hazardous to electronics, in particular 25 year old electronics like the SNES.

Oh, and I think it'd be cool to run a SNES from a battery. I already run my framemeister from a battery (cleans up some of the swirling noise patterns that can occasionally be seen in games like SMW in the underwater/cave sections for example).

Eurobum

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1