Super Star Wars: Return of the Jedi last edited by robertcallaghan on 08/30/20 01:20PM View full history


No Caption Provided

Super Star Wars: Return of the Jedi is a sci-fi side-scrolling action platformer (with vehicular combat levels) developed by Sculptured and published by JVC for the Super Nintendo Entertainment System in June 1994.

The third and final installment of the Super Star Wars trilogy, Return of the Jedi is based on the 1983 film of the same name. Players must infiltrate the Tatooine palace of Jabba the Hutt as Luke Skywalker and his crew (including Chewbacca and a disguised Princess Leia) to rescue Han Solo. Afterwards, they must journey through the forest moon of Endor to weaken a re-built Death Star, where Luke must face-off against the leaders of the Galactic Empire.

The game was later published by LucasArts in Europe and Victor Interactive in Japan, as well as re-released in North America years later by THQ. It was digitally re-released for the Wii (via Virtual Console) by LucasArts on September 7, 2009. The game also received handheld ports (ported by Realtime Associates and published by Black Pearl) for the Game Boy and Sega Game Gear in 1995.


In addition to the 3 playable heroes of previous games (Han, Luke, and Chewie), Super Return Of The Jedi adds Leia and Wicket the Ewok. The number of available players changes each level. The controls are the same as those of Super Empire Strikes Back, but Luke cannot use a blaster and only has 5 force powers. Some levels switch from controlling the heroes to piloting a ship.

There are 3 difficulty levels; Easy, Brave, and Jedi. A password system allows players to start at any level provided they enter the correct password.


  1. Tatooine 1
  2. Tatooine 2-Boss: Palace Door Guard
  3. Jabba's Palace-Boss: Bib Fortuna
  4. Dungeon-Boss: Giant Purple Fog
  5. Rancor Pit-Boss: Rancor
  6. Sail Barge
  7. Inside Sail Barge-Boss: Jabba the Hut
  8. Speeder Bike Chase
  9. Ewok Village 1-Boss: EV-9D9
  10. Ewok Village 2-Boss: Dragon
  11. Imperial Base-Boss: Imperial Ship
  12. Falcon Battle
  13. Bunker-Boss: Shield Generator
  14. Death Star-Boss: Darktroopers
  15. Death Star Surface
  16. Tower-Boss: Royal Guard, Darktrooper
  17. Final Battle-Boss: Darth Vader
  18. Emperor's Throne Room-Boss: Emperor Palpatine
  19. Death Star Tunnel

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.