Something went wrong. Try again later

    Tao Feng: Fist of the Lotus

    Game » consists of 2 releases. Released Mar 18, 2003

    An Xbox-exclusive fighting game designed by Mortal Kombat co-creator John Tobias, telling the tale of two martial arts factions duking it out in New China.

    Short summary describing this game.

    Tao Feng: Fist of the Lotus last edited by Nes on 01/08/24 06:44PM View full history


    No Caption Provided

    Tao Feng: Fist of the Lotus is a 3D fighting game developed by Studio Gigante and published by Microsoft Game Studios for the Xbox on March 18, 2003 in North America, on May 9, 2003 in Europe, and on October 23, 2003 in Japan (as part of the World Collection series).

    The first of two games from Studio Gigante, a studio formed by ex-Midway members (including Mortal Kombat co-creator John Tobias), Tao Feng is a traditional 3D fighting game (similar to the Tekken series) that features a modern orientalist theme, interactive environments, and a battle damage system (both cosmetically and gameplay-wise).

    The game is set in New China, a fictional nation that makes up most of the western coast of North America, and tells of a modern-day conflict between two ancient Chinese sects: the harmonious Pale Lotus (led by Master Sage) and the treacherous Black Mantis (led by Wulong Goth). Both factions are fighting for complete possession of a broken set of tablets leading to the secret treasures of the Pale Lotus (which are believed to be used to bargain with the gods for immortality).

    Along with extensive use of cosmetic "battle damage" effects on the combatants (showing cuts, gashes, and bruises throughout the fight), the game is best known for its "limb damage" system, where constant attacks against certain parts of the body can cause a significant de-buff (such as damaged arms halving the damage of punch attacks). The "Chi" meter, normally used for super "Chi" attacks, can be used to heal these de-buffs.


    Pale Lotus

    Black Mantis


    • Zhao Yen (final boss of Quest Mode, unlockable by completing the mode with both factions)


    Environments in Tao Feng are unique in that each environment holds two stages. Some stages are accessed through knocking a player through a wall or hitting them through the floor or ceiling, while others can just be entered by walking to the edges of the screen.

    Metro China Pier.

    Stages: Boardwalk, Arcade.

    Metro China

    Stages: Rooftop, Street.

    Museum Of Natural History

    Stages: Arms & Armor Hall, Main Lobby.

    Heidan Sanctuary

    Stages: Courtyard, Training Room.

    Yan Lo Tower

    Stages: Main Lobby, Penhouse

    Souther Pole

    Stages: Archaeologiacal Dig, Shipwreck.

    A bonus stage, Ethereal Plane of Immortality, can be unlocked by completing Advanced Training Mode with any character.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.