Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

The Legend of Zelda

Franchise »

Nintendo's flagship fantasy action-adventure series created by Shigeru Miyamoto and Takashi Tezuka in 1985, the Zelda series is the source of many revolutionary gameplay conventions, and continues to be one of the most popular and critically acclaimed video game franchises of all time.

Keeping up with Zelda

skurk

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

Edited By skurk

Hello! How nice of you to read this.
    I've been playing games for 25 years now, starting at age 5 with the wonderfully non-portable portable C-64, the SX-64: 

Is that a 5-INCH COLOUR SCREEN, you ask? Yes, I tell you. 
    Is that a BUILT IN DISK-DRIVE? you follow up with. And I slyly answer: "oh yeah". 
    I played some Commando, some Cobra, some He-Man, a lot of Boulder Dash and a bit of Monty Mole. And about a million other games.
    I also attempted to write my own games on it, copying the code from a library book, and failed miserably - probably because of a misplaced semicolon. I sometimes wonder if, had I placed that semicolon correctly, I would have been part of the teams creating some of the great games I play today.
    The SX-64 is long gone, sadly. My dad sold it long after it became irrelevant, presumably to buy cigarettes or something. 
    I didn't care at that time of course, I had my Amiga 500, my Sega Master System II and my original Gameboy. 
    I think Link's Awakening was the first game I really finished, at least the first game with a proper story. It was so amazing to me, a 13-year-old kid on an epic journey while sitting in my mom's couch staring at a little green screen. I had to call the Danish Nintendo Hotline to get past a room where I had to kill 3 enemies in a particular order. That one stumped me.
    And then I never finished another Zelda game. 
    I never had a NES or a SNES, they were too expensive. There were too many other distractions for me.