Something went wrong. Try again later

    The Seven Deadly Sins

    Concept »

    Seven especially sinful traits identified by early Christian writers. They have come to be a popular motif in all sorts of media.

    Short summary describing this concept.

    The Seven Deadly Sins last edited by Aruru-san on 10/16/21 04:15PM View full history


    The seven deadly sins are a list of traits or behaviors identified as the worst of all sins by some (but not all) Christian denominations, especially Catholicism. The sins recognized today are avarice (or greed), envy, gluttony, lust, pride, sloth, and wrath. However, this list is not mentioned in the Bible; a comparable list is given in the Old Testament's Book of Proverbs but is not mentioned elsewhere. The idea of enumerating certain deadly or cardinal sins was popularized by religious writing of the 4th century, and the current list was put forth by Pope Gregory I in the late 6th century. The Pope's version was immortalized by Dante Alighieri's epic poem The Divine Comedy, which originated the idea of different levels of Hell devoted to each sin.

    Several games make reference to the deadly sins, usually as part of a larger religious theme or parody.


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.