Something went wrong. Try again later

    Dragon Ball Z: Hyper Dimension

    Game » consists of 2 releases. Released Mar 29, 1996

    The final adaptation of the series to be released on the Super Famicom, featuring a less-cartoonish visual approach and more traditional fighting game mechanics.

    Short summary describing this game.

    No recent wiki edits to this page.


    No Caption Provided

    Dragon Ball Z: Hyper Dimension is a 2D sci-fi fantasy fighting game developed by TOSE and published by Bandai for the Super Famicom exclusively in Japan on March 29, 1996.

    The last game based on the Dragon Ball manga and anime series to be released on fourth-generation video game consoles, Hyper Dimension altered the formula of its previous fighting games by emphasizing faster close-quarters combat and adding more traditional fighting game mechanics (such as the "desperation attack" system and the Real Bout Fatal Fury "oversway" system).

    The game's roster features ten playable characters from the Dragon Ball Z storyline, most of which are based on their later "Majin Buu Saga" versions (the only outliers being Frieza and Cell). While most of the story mode goes through key battles from the "Majin Buu Saga", it starts with a loose retelling of the battles against Frieza and Cell.

    Like some previous installments of the franchise for the Super Famicom, Hyper Dimension was translated and released in some European countries (France and Spain). It was released on February 1997 and its Story Mode was completely disabled due to the lack of translation.


    What makes this addition different to previous 16-bit Dragon Ball Z fighters is the inclusion of the 'desperate move'. Each character has a desperate move which can be used when their life bar is low (i.e when it is flashing). For example, in Goku's desperate move, he can power up, perform his teleportation technique (Shunkan-Idôs), does a combo, transforms into Super Saiyan 3 and performs his Super Dragonfist move (Ryū-ken). The opponent, helpless in the air, could then be finished with a Spirit Bomb (Genki-Dama).

    The majority of the stages featured are multi-tier, requiring a specific combo to be executed to knock the opponent into another screen.

    Characters are also able to perform background attacks and replenish their health.


    The game featured 10 playable characters and transformations:

    No Caption Provided
    • Goku (Super Saiyan form, can transform into his Super Saiyan 3 form in his "desperation attack")
    • Vegeta (Super Saiyan form, possessed by the evil wizard Babidi)
    • Gotenks (Super Saiyan 3 form)
    • Gohan (adult "Ultimate" form)
    • Vegito (Super Saiyan form)
    • Piccolo
    • Majin Buu (both his "Fat" and pure "Kid" forms)
    • Frieza (final form)
    • Cell (perfect form)

    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.