No recent wiki edits to this page.


World Championship Soccer (JP: World Cup Soccer, EU: World Cup Italia '90, SA: Super Futebol) is a Genesis soccer game and the first of its genre for the system. It is based on the 1990 World Cup event, which for that year was set in Italy, and features 24 international sides competing for the titular trophy. The game features a top-down, vertically-oriented perspective of the pitch.

Because the game was created several months before the 1990 World Cup, even before the qualifying rounds had concluded, the twenty-four teams the game features would not correlate to the actual twenty-four that competed in the event.


Included below is an alphabetical list of all the teams that competed in the 1990 World Cup as well as the teams that are featured in this game. An underlined country means the team appears in the game but did not actually qualify. A bolded country is a team that did qualify, but does not feature in the game.

  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Cameroon
  • China PR
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Czechoslovakia
  • Denmark
  • Egypt
  • England
  • France
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Hungary
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Scotland
  • Spain
  • South Korea
  • Soviet Union
  • Sweden
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • West Germany
  • Yugoslavia

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.