Just got a Scroll of Res from a stranger. Is this phishing?

Avatar image for michaelfossbakk
#1 Edited by michaelfossbakk (265 posts) -

The sender's identity was his/her character name and I do not recognize it at all. I was just wondering if there have been phishing attempts or some other malicious tom-foolery with these Scrolls of Resurrection.

EDIT: All of the links and images appear legitimate.




Avatar image for gakon
#2 Posted by gakon (2010 posts) -

I think I've gotten a fake Scroll of Res. email before.

Did you check the sender's email address or look at the URLs of any links in the email?

Avatar image for codeacious
#3 Posted by Codeacious (957 posts) -

There's always tons of WoW phishing scams. Check the links included in the email and see if they're fake sites (like us.battlo.net) or something similar. Also, if you don't want to play WoW again, or don't know who it is, just delete the email.

Avatar image for marz
#4 Posted by Marz (6019 posts) -

read the header of the e-mail. it'll tell you if it's real or not.

Avatar image for taliciadragonsong
#5 Posted by TaliciaDragonsong (8734 posts) -

Check the official forums, might be a topic about it there with images or something that will help you confirm.

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.