Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

Game » consists of 19 releases. Released Oct 09, 2012

The classic tactical turn-based combat returns in this modern re-imagining of X-COM: UFO Defense.

I'm new to turn based strategy games.

Avatar image for starfishhunter9
    Starfishhunter9

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By Starfishhunter9

But I like this one. I find the learning curve a bit steep, But I am getting enjoy the difficulty and the turn based nature of play. I was a die hard RTS fan some of my favorites being age of empires series, the command and conquer games and warcraft/starcraft series. But since the RTS genre seemed to have died, I'm trying out turn based strategy games such as this and the Civ series as a replacement for my RTS itch. How does civ 5 compare to this game? is the learning curve higher? Are there any other games with similar quality in this genre?

Kerned

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#2  Edited By Kerned

Civ V is a very good game, but I wouldn't compare it to XCOM at all. It's more of a broad long-term strategy game, where as XCOM is a small-scale, moment-to-moment tactics game. If you are looking for something more like XCOM, Valkyria Chronicles on the PS3 is very much in the same vien. It's a turn-based tactics RPG of sorts, set in a really cool alternate history WWII setting.

NekuSakuraba

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#3  Edited By NekuSakuraba

Civilization V is a more complicated game than XCOM, so the learning curve is higher. It is also a bit tougher if you have never played a game like Civ V before.

Before anyone attacks me, I'm only playing XCOM on normal at not once did I ever feel like I was close to losing the game (only too many soldiers) but with Civ V, you will lose a lot of games if you aren't familiar to the genre.

golguin

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 10

#4  Edited By golguin