Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Fallout 4

Game » consists of 14 releases. Released Nov 10, 2015

The Fallout series continues in a post-apocalyptic Boston, Massachusetts.

Any fix yet for the 144hz Monitor issue?

Mister_V

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By Mister_V

I just started playing the PC version and It's running great so far apart from the fact that whenever I use a computer terminal my guy gets stuck trying to leave it. I have had a look online and it seems tied to to the refresh rate of my monitor (144hz) I can stop the issue by dropping the refresh rate to 60hz but then the game seems a bit less smooth.

Has anyone come up with a fix for this yet? Any mods out there for it or will I be messing with config files?

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

Fallout 4 always forces vsync unless you force it off in Nvidia's control panel or change some values in some .ini files. I have a 144hz (not megahertz) monitor and the vsync in Fallout 4 just doesn't look right at all when combined with a high refresh rate. It also seems to have weird physics issues, like the terminal thing, which I got once early in the game.

I wound up forcing vsync off in Nvidia's control panel and I used Nvidia Inspector to cap the framerate at 75. I'm using a GTX 970, 8GB RAM, and an i5 3470 and have had zero issues with anything since doing that. It's been super smooth since. Sometimes the framerate drops to the 50's, but I can only notice that when I have Steam's frame counter on. Otherwise, it's all A-OK. I don't need to change the refresh rate every time I start the game, I don't have problems with vsync's input lag, I don't have problems with the game's physics, etc.