Gustav

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By Gustav

Hello everyone!

I haven't been very active in the GB community (I'm usually a lurker when it comes to communities), but I have been enjoying the content of the site very much, it is easily the best site covering video games out there. I signed up for the site the day it launched and have listened to/watched pretty much every Bombcast and Quick Look to date (I came from On the spot and the early Arrow pointing down podcasts introduced me to the format, I still haven't found anything as good as the Bombcast though :) 

My name is Gustav and I'm a hobbyist/indie game developer. I usually work on projects in my free time while studying but since the last year has been my gap year, I've been able to work a lot more than usual. I have decided to start writing about what I am working on from time to time in my profile, to hopefully get some feedback and reach a somewhat wider audience than my friends and the other game developers I usually talk to.

Right now I am about to release my first major game ever, a multiplayer kart racer called "Seaside Racing". I started working on it in the beginning of 2009 using a physics engine I had started working on a couple of months earlier. It was meant to be a small game to test out the physics engine.. it turned out to be a huge project that took me almost 2 years to finish :)  Here is a screenshot of the finished game. I'm very happy with how it turned out and I've learnt a lot from the project, the most important thing being that you should always plan creative projects ahead, at least have some idea of what you are aiming for and what the most ambitious scenario for the project would look like (I did close to no planning before I started working on the game).