Dungeons and Dragons, a heated topic among gamers.

TimeFugitive

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 5

#1  Edited By TimeFugitive

I'm gonna say right from the beginning that I am pretty new to tabletop gaming.  I started around the new year and wanted to try new gaming options (i.e. Magic, D and D), and ended up really enjoying it.  A couple friends and I have a weekly game night.  Unfortunately when we play it's like we are freaks among our friends.  Wwe have many friends/family that won't even think of touching the game.  I even tell them that many video games owe a lot of game mechanics, bestiary, story to the game...but they are headstrong that it is awful.  
Have any of you experienced this in your life?  Have you been able to convert anyone?  I think I could get a lot more of my friends interested if they gave it a shot...

Avatar image for kaosangel-DELETED
KaosAngel

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By KaosAngel

DONT PLAY 4TH EDITION!
DONT PLAY 4TH EDITION!
DONT PLAY 4TH EDITION!
DONT PLAY 4TH EDITION!
DONT PLAY 4TH EDITION!   

EDIT:  Start with 3.5 or maybe 2nd if you can find it.  DONT PLAY 4TH!

thatfrood

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 15

#3  Edited By thatfrood

I know what you mean. I have experienced the same.
But I mean, come on, if I'm honest with myself, it is pretty much one of the nerdiest possible things you can ever do ever. While gaming has now entered very much into the mainstream, a game that bros can play, dnd was, is, and always will be something that is very much for nerds. You roleplay as warriors and wizards and make pretend around a table, for chrissakes.

TimeFugitive

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By TimeFugitive
@KaosAngel: It's funny, we started with 4th edition but after two months, the DM requested we go to 3.5 so we have freedoms with character creation and attacks.  3.5 is a lot more fun.  Haven't heard much about 2nd Ed