I have to pay customs for my damn member shirt!?

Soap

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 29

#1  Edited By Soap

I've bought stuff from the GB store before, and being a UK resident I'm used to it taking a little while to get here, however I've just got a note from the post office telling me I have to pay £14.16 in customs for my members shirt this year. What the hell! I've never had this before! I guess in the past they have sent them as a 'gift' so it doesn't need to be paid for.

Anyway, thanks to that, my $35 of t-shirts after delivery to the UK and now customs charges has cost me £48.70 or $78.39!

I'm probably not going to be buying anything else from the GB store if I have to pay so much customs tax on it.

Is it just me that had this? Did they used to send it as a gift but are now not doing that anymore?

Bell_End

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By Bell_End

think anything over £18 is liable to import duty. unlucky

MattyFTM

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 11

#3  Edited By MattyFTM  Moderator

As I understand it, it's pretty hit or miss whether or not customs catches it and charges you tax on it.

The_Patriarch

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#4  Edited By The_Patriarch

Yeah, Matty is correct. Ive received 3 GB packages over the years, and 2 got through customs without taxes, while the third didnt.

Soap

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By Soap

That really sucks, I guess I had just got lucky before. I've got to take this slip of card to the post office to pick up my package and regardless of if it's advisable I'm going to fight them tooth or nail to not pay it, wish me luck! :D

SharkEthic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6  Edited By SharkEthic

@Soap said: