Can I remove Windows from a HDD but keep the files?

Dopaminous

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Dopaminous

I want to upgrade to Windows 10 through a clean install and I thought about getting a SSD and installing Win10 on it, making it the primary boot option.

I don't necessarily need to remove the OS from my current HDD, I just need to be able to access the files inside it and execute programs without needing to reinstall them.

Is it possible?

I know this is a probably a pretty basic question, but I don't have too much PC knowledge and I've never tried dual boot before to know.

Ezekiel

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Ezekiel

Yes. Just unplug the system drive, install Windows 10 on your new SSD and then connect the old system drive again.

Coincidentally, I had to do this yesterday, to delete an Nvidia update that screwed up and prevented me from loading to the desktop.

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

#3  Edited By Justin258

You'll have to go into the BIOS and make your SSD the first boot option. This is easy - no, really, trust me, it is - but I'm on a cellphone and can't explain the whole process at the moment.

forteexe21

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

If you're going to install to a new drive, no need to even uninstall Windows. Just install Windows 10 to the new drive, make it primary and you can even dual boot so you can boot the old OS if needed. You may need to reinstall programs if its not a portable program.

GundamGuru

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

@dopaminous: It is possible, though many previously installed programs won't work without reinstallation. When a program is installed on Windows, among other things, registry keys are created which are unique to the Windows installation. There are also dependencies that are installed, global variables that are set, config files written, etc.

WillyOD

Forum Posts