Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Building a PC, would love some help.

Avatar image for cattlemutilation
    CattleMutilation

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By CattleMutilation

This is my first time building a computer. I've been looking at and choosing parts for the last few days now, and I would love some help with it. Here's what I've got so far.

• CPU: Intel Core i5-3570k 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor
    • RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1600
    • HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 7200RPM
    • GPU: Asus Radeon HD 7870
    • PSU: Corsair HX750
    • Optical Drive: Asus DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer
    • Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP4 TH
    • Case: Cooler Master HAF 922 ATX Mid Tower Case

Originally I had an i7-3770, and an Asus Sabertooth Z77 on this list. I chose to forgo the i7 for a cheaper alternative, and I dropped the Z77 for something I'm still not sure on. The motherboard is a big concern for me, I've been adding and dropping different ones and haven't settled on any of them. I'm unsure of the one on the list currently because of some reviews I read on newegg and amazon listing weird incompatibility issues between windows 7 and the USB ports on the mobo.

Also, PCPartPicker lists a minor incompatibility between the motherboard I currently have on the list and the case. It says:

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP4 TH ATX LGA1155 Motherboard has an onboard USB 3.0 header, but the Cooler Master HAF 922 ATX Mid Tower Case does not have front panel USB 3.0 ports.