Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Trouble with new PC build - Need some advice

deox

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

Hey guys, I just put together a new PC and I'm having some trouble with it. I've tried out 3 different games on it so far and all of them seem to be suffering from some severe stuttering and low fps (Strangely, all games are hovering between 42-55 fps, never more, or less?). I'm using an i7 6700k (not overclocked), Asus GTX 1070, 16gb RAM DDR4-2400, and an EVGA 550w Gold PSU. Just to make sure I put the 1070 in one of my older builds and it seems to run just fine. I've built PCs before, but i'm far from a pro. I just can't seem to figure it out. I've considered it might be that my PSU is not powerful enough, but I have used a 550w PSU before in an older build. It used a i7 3770k and a gtx 970... never had a problem. From what I understand, the new 6th gen i7's and the 1070 are much better on power then previous generations. What do you think? Could it be the PSU? I'd appreciate any advice you guys can give me.

OurSin_360

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By OurSin_360

I don't know, check all the clock speeds to see if everything is running as it should, check your temps to make sure nothing is over heating and possibly throttling, and if all that checks out maybe try and overclock that cpu(that's what the K's are for anyway). Also what resolution are you running at? Also make sure all your divers etc are up to date, or even try and roll back to an earlier version as well to test.

stonyman65

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

Drivers up to date? What games and settings? 45-55 isn't exactly low.

deox