Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Ray Casting

Concept »

Technique for detecting intersection of an object and a line in virtual space.

Page needs review

xilefian

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I stumbled upon this page (and Wiki) from a Google search, I am an experienced game developer and ray-casting is a speciality of mine (it's a personal "Hello World" for me).

This Wiki page has a lot of content that assumed a particular form of ray-casting, additionally most of the games listed do not use ray-casting (Duke 3D, Road Rash, Heretic).

It's also very strange to describe ray-casting as "An advanced form of pseudo-3D sprite-scaling". Ray-casting is as much sprite-scaling as a fully 3D triangle raster engine would be, in fact what we'd consider "sprites" in the cases of Wolfenstein 3D, etc do not rely on ray-casting, they are a separate rendering step, so I assume the "sprite-scaling" describes the walls, which are indeed 1 dimensional scaled spans in the case of textured ray-casters (but not untextured, Hovertank 3D).

Ray-casting as a general "concept" is also utilised outside of rendering. If this is a Wiki about concepts then it should be generalised in this direction, with ray-caster renderers as a category within the Wikipage.

I will probably make changes to the page to reflect how it probably should be presented as a "concept" and remove the games on the list that are known to not use ray-casting or are not confirmed to use it.

The reason I want to make these corrections is because I stumbled on this page from a Google-search, so chances are others will be finding their way here when wishing to learn more yet are presented with content that can be considered incorrect with a few points.

captain_max707

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Cool, thanks for taking it upon yourself to fix it!

xilefian

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By xilefian