Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Shovel Knight

Game » consists of 36 releases. Released Jun 26, 2014

An action-platformer paying homage to 8-bit classics like Mega Man and Castlevania. It is developed by a small group of former WayForward employees, with funding through Kickstarter.

Shovel Knight is the Best NES Experience I Never Had

sagesebas

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 5

Edited By sagesebas
    My favorite part in the whole game
    My favorite part in the whole game

At 24 years old I don’t have much nostalgia for the NES. By the time I was born the NES was already six years old and it would be another six or so years until I started playing games. I have fond memories of the Super Nintendo though, Donkey Kong Country is one of my all-time favorite games and I had fun with the odd game or so I got a year. At that point in my life I was still too young to really get invested in games. I don’t think I finished one game from that system, most of the time I didn’t even realize that those games could be beaten. Most of my nostalgia and reverence for gaming comes from the original Playstation. Final Fantasy VII and VIII were some of my fondest memories as a kid. I played the hell out of Crash Bandicoot and I even loved WCW/NWO Thunder even though I’m not actually sure it was a good game. I mention all of this because I feel like the NES is a giant blind spot in my gaming history. Sure I have gone back and played the seminal games on an emulator but it’s not quite the same. I could never get past the concessions you would have to make for older game design and never finished a game from that era. I don’t have the same reverence for Metroid or Mega Man or Zelda that most people do. Which is why Shovel Knight is the best facsimile I could have asked for and how it scratches that NES itch.