Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Super House of Dead Ninjas

Game » consists of 1 releases. Released Aug 06, 2013

An endless action platformer with procedurally generated levels. A full remake of an Adult Swim flash game.

Speed running strategies

HerbieBug

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By HerbieBug

I was recently introduced to speed running community and decided I'd like to give it a try myself. SHODN is the game I chose to get started, because it is super fun and because it's new and has not already been thoroughly picked apart by other speed runners. I'm no expert on this game, so following list will not be exhaustive. I have not unlocked every weapon either. Just a series of strategies I have found to make consistently blazing through a randomly generated game such as this doable. A lot of this is applicable to normal play speed as well:

Killing things with the quickness

Melee Weapons:

There are two choices I think work best for speed. Nunchucks+ and whip. Nunchucks+ have fast (enough) attack for all applications where you would need the regular attack as opposed to the downwards dive. They also reflect projectiles, which is particularly useful in Abarghus fight. Whip has, i think, the fastest normal attack in the game (crouching regular attack), but does not reflect projectiles. Because dive attack kills everything in one shot regardless of chosen weapon, there's no need for a weapon that kills in one hit from the normal attack.

Update 18/03/13- If you get very lucky with the positioning of the floating purple bit during Aberghus fight, you can significantly speed this fight up by doing crouching attack repeatedly with whip provided floating bit leaves you within range to hit him.

Ranged weapons: