New to game capture/ video editing and looking for some tips!

conker

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hello duders!

I'm looking to try my hand at learning how to capture game footage (mainly from my PS5) + cut that footage for a video. The problem is, I am very new to all of this, and I am looking for some tips! Here is what I know so far:

1. My basic laptop will not suffice for video editing requirements or elgato capture (in CPU, GPU, and Ram). What minimum CPU/GPU combo should I be looking for in a new laptop? I know Elgato's HD60 S+ requires a Geforce 10xx as a minimum, but what is optimal?
  2. Are there any other pieces of software, other than Premiere Pro, that I should be investing in?
  3. I'm in Canada, so prices / laptop availability may vary
  4. What other hardware do I need, aside from the elgato device and the actual laptop?

My budget currently is around ~1500 USD- is that more than I would need? I am interested in branching out to streaming at some point, so I would likely want the hardware/software to support that too.

Any and all tips/tricks are appreciated!

rorie

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 3

@conker said:

Hello duders!

I'm looking to try my hand at learning how to capture game footage (mainly from my PS5) + cut that footage for a video. The problem is, I am very new to all of this, and I am looking for some tips! Here is what I know so far:

1. My basic laptop will not suffice for video editing requirements or elgato capture (in CPU, GPU, and Ram). What minimum CPU/GPU combo should I be looking for in a new laptop? I know Elgato's HD60 S+ requires a Geforce 10xx as a minimum, but what is optimal?
  2. Are there any other pieces of software, other than Premiere Pro, that I should be investing in?
  3. I'm in Canada, so prices / laptop availability may vary
  4. What other hardware do I need, aside from the elgato device and the actual laptop?