Calling All Carpenters: Need Help Building A Chair

crusader8463

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 5

#1  Edited By crusader8463

I'm not sure if we have any carpenters in the community but I was looking for some help with building a chair. I'm a rather large man and I have never set in a computer chair that felt comfortable unless it was some extremely expensive chair that I could never afford. So I got to thinking that since I have access to piles of nice thick heavy wood out back, my dad's adding onto his garage, I thought now would be my chance to finally get around to building a nice solid comfortable chair to use at my computer. The problem however is that I have never built one before so I'm not sure where to start.

As I mentioned I'm a big guy so the chair does have to be built sturdy. I really don't care about how it looks as that can be changed later, but more so on the stability and comfort of the design. Before I go in wasting wood and building something that implodes the moment a fly lands on the thing, let alone my fat ass, I wanted to look at some videos of how other people build chairs to get a better understanding of the process- but I couldn't find any. So I was hoping that some one in the community would know of some web sites that have videos like these orif you have any experience with making chairs like that if you could give me some pointers on how I should go about doing it.

I was thinking of something simple like these photo's below, but I wasn't sure how stable they would be to sit on. 

crusader8463

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By crusader8463

Really? No one?

hicks91

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By hicks91

find cushions you feel comfortable with 
build a support for them 
other than that, dunno 
remember cross beams 

Avatar image for themustachehero
TheMustacheHero

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0