Giant Bomb News


Band Hero To Bring Pop Music To Your Plastic This November

Taylor Swift and Lily Allen to appear on Band Hero soundtrack this November.

If you were a Band Hero, you might look something like this.  
If you were a Band Hero, you might look something like this.  
MSN has posted the first teaser trailer for Activision's Band Hero, but unless you like seeing pretty people bouncing around holding plastic instruments while Lily Allen is played, you probably don't need to bother watching it.

As expected, the game will be taking on more of a poppy, family friendly focus compared to the T-rated Guitar Hero series, which is obviously fueled by the power of Satan and shouldn't be played by anyone under the age of 40. The Band Hero trailer specifically mentions the following songs:

  • Taylor Swift - Picture to Burn
  • No Doubt - Just A Girl
  • Lily Allen - Take What You Take
  • The All-American Rejects - Dirty Little Secret
  • Jackson 5 - ABC

The Killers and Snow Patrol are also mentioned in the MSN story accompanying the video. Additional details make the November release sound an awful lot like the Guitar Hero 5 feature set, with Party Play and RockFest both getting mentions. Looks like it'll also be backwards compatible with downloaded content from Guitar Hero World Tour (which would also make it compatible with any songs you buy for GH5, if I'm not mistaken).

The game will be released on the 360, Wii, PS2, PS3, and DS this year. It'll be interesting to see if the DS game is entirely new and functional on the DSi or if this is just another song update to the tech built for the DS versions of Guitar Hero.
Jeff Gerstmann on Google+