• 66 results
nightriff

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 7

#1  Edited By nightriff

I'm sure there are already threads about this but whatever, I'm still new to GB.

As I am listening to all the Bombcasts I just hit the year 2009 which means one of the last episodes I have listened to was the 2008 Game of the Year Podcast and the GB Crew got GotY wrong. GTA4 is a fine game and deserves a lot of credit for what it did almost 4 years ago BUT it is also very overrated in my opinion and what is great about the game gets old after 10 years and what is bad about the game gets worse after about 2 hours. Brad is absolutely correct in that MGS4 deserved to be GotY. MGS4 is personally one of my favorite gaming experiences of all time and has so many memorable moments. My Xbot friends even went out of their way to play the game that year because of word of mouth.

Looking back now GTA4 was a good experience but one I do not want to play again anytime soon and possibly ever. MGS4 on the other hand I play every year at least once on the day it originally came out. In listening to the GotY 2008 Podcast I wasn't convinced that GTA4 was the best game that year and even looking back on BC's from May through June, MGS4 trumps GTA4 in total discussion and even had it's own Podcast dedicated to talking about how fucking awesome it was.

If you agree or disagree I would love to hear as this is probably the closest GotY discussion in the existence of Giant Bomb. 2009 easily UC2, 2010 easily ME2, and 2011 was convincingly Skyrim. 2008 is still up for debate to me.

Avatar image for deactivated-61665c8292280
deactivated-61665c8292280

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 6

I disagree, but I do so without a whole lot of basis (since I've never played MGS4, so I can't speak to that).