Fighting game controls: is it just me?

kronixi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By kronixi

I'm new to the classic one on one 2d fighting game genre and I've always loved watching but never playing as my competitiveness gets the best of me and I burn out. But this recent couple of years ive calmed down and can enjoy competitive games without having a panic attack and practice.

I've run into a stumbling block, I picked up Dragonball fighterz and played some street fighter and when i'm starting on the left side of the screen i find it alot easier to move my fight stick left (going back) than going right (towards my opponent) is this just something I need to practice or will it always be a weakness? I'm just wondering if its just me who has this issue with fighting games. I wish i could be more specific but i just mean air dashing right but air dashing left is a lot easier.

I think I have a hypothesis; im right handed and right footed therefore i'm left brain dominant and its just one of those things you have to practice to alleviate it. But i'm not sure

maestro17

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

I find controls while facing right feel much more natural. With an open hand, pushing right feels better than pulling, or tapping left.

JunkerWoland

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

I've been playing fighting games since the original Street Fighter II. I'm also right handed and can sympathize. As an example, to this day it's still easier for me to do a double-fireball motion (quarter-circle forward x 2), when my opponent is on the left-side of the screen. Continued play should alleviate issue (significantly so, if you keep at it), but completely conquering that unnatural feeling probably requires something akin to pro-level dedication.

nutter

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 9