Mustard

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By Mustard

Hello Giantbomb community,

I'm a long time reader, but rarely post, so please accept my apologies from coming to the board for basically the first time in a long time immediately asking for help :P

That said, I would love the help of the community, if any of you have time.

Background: I am a graduate student at a University in Canada who has decided (read. somehow managed to convince my supervisor) to pursue a thesis looking into the effects on performance that forcing people to use a normal or inverted control schemes for first person games/simluations has regardless of preference,.

As you all are probably quite aware, there are countless arguments online as to which is best or which is the correct scheme. While these opinions and arguments are often fun, they will not be the basis for a lot of my thesis (sadly). I've also found very little in the academic literature actually testing it (save an article or two)

What I am currently working on is developing a way to determine a novice's preference for y-axis inversion in a way that doesn't require exposing them to both schemes.

In the same way that a novice snowboarder's forward facing leg can be determined with a push from behind, I'd like to determine a way to best way to figure out if people prefer inverted or normal quickly and accurately (controlling for previous experience, where possible.)

I've become interested in the way that games like Halo have become well known for their in-game checks for preference disguised as calibration of a suit or something (Giantbomb Wiki Concept: Tutorials Disguised as Diagnostics).

What I'd like to know relates specifically to how the games handle those particular sequences.