I need some life/school advice.

NoobSauceG7

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 9

User Lists: 15

Hi everyone.

I have been depressed lately thinking about school, my future, not knowing what to do. I am going into my Junior year of college, and am currently a video game/computer design major. I started this major last year, I was a math major as a freshman (switched cause it was kinda boring). I chose my current major because (like most of you guys) I really like games. I have very little experience though with programming and animation. I am starting a class this semester where I make a game and it spans out to the Spring of next year. My professors are good, but I don't know if I love the programming that I did last year.

I am considering switching my major to be a music education major. I have been a musician for many years, and have even tutored kids in my instrument (tuba). I have enjoyed teaching kids and most of the friends I have made have been through music. I have still been playing over the years, but have not been practicing as much since I just don't have all the time in the world.

So my problem is that the semester has already started and it would be too late to do a full 180 with my classes. I do have some things that can contribute to music education like lessons, some classes and being part of the band, but I would have to meet with someone to see what else I would have to take (I have been trying to meet with someone to talk to them, but they haven't gotten back to me yet). What my plan is to stick with my classes now, see how I feel about game design at the end of the semester, and then from there chose between games or music. It's tough since I love playing games a lot and being a part of it like watching Giant Bomb, but a part of me has just been missing since high school where I was part of everything music wise.

I just want to do something that makes me happy. Thanks for reading and for input.

DeeGee

Forum Posts

Wiki Points