ciscoidiot

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By ciscoidiot

Greetings GB,

Just thought we could use a City Pop appreciation thread. I've been enjoying this stuff for a few years now and enjoy discovering new-old artists via YouTube. Please share your favorite City Pop jam or whatever you're currently listening to.

City Pop can be generalized as 80's J-Pop with a Big City sound.

My personal favorite J-Pop artists from the 80's are Junko Yagami and Toshiki Kadomatsu.

ThePickle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 13

This is my jam

Loading Video...
ciscoidiot

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

First reply is a jam I haven't heard and I am so god damn hype about it. Thanks @thepickle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

mike

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: -1

User Lists: 6

Moved to Off Topic and Japanese edited out of thread title. English only, please.

ciscoidiot

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

@mike said:

Moved to Off Topic and Japanese edited out of thread title. English only, please.

Hey thanks! Realized it should have been OT after it was too late!

TheHT

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 9

I dunno if this counts but I love it a lot.

Loading Video...

ExplodingShark

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

That Chakra is awesome, almost sounds like Japanese Cocteau Twins.

Probably too surface level, but both Kakashi by Yasuaki Shimizu and Utakata No Hibi by his band Mariah are amazing albums front to back, and got pretty good vinyl reissues recently if that's you're thing. Seaside Lovers and Dip In The Pool round out my "you've probably heard it, but if not go check it out" list. (...and Minako Yoshida who arranged that Toshiki Kadomatsu album you are pulling from in the OP).

Somewhat more off the beaten track (and not really City Pop as such, but similar time period and I associate these together):

Piper

Loading Video...

The Carmets