Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Garou: Mark of the Wolves

Game » consists of 16 releases. Released Nov 26, 1999

The final game in the Fatal Fury franchise, Garou is set ten years after the death of Geese Howard, and features eleven brand new characters for the player to take control over.

Come on, get serious! Garou Mark of the Wolves now on XBONE via back compat

bigsocrates

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

In case you missed it Garou was added to XBONE backwards compatibility today. I played a few rounds of survival and it's still a fantastic game and runs great on XBONE as far as I can tell (but I am far from an expert in such things.)

I know a lot of people really want big AAA games released via backwards compatibility, but I'm very happy to see smaller but excellent titles like this released. If I want to go back and play Red Dead Redemption I can hook my xbox 360 up and play it, but a game like Garou where I might want to play a 15-20 minute session is just really nice to have available on my Xbone. In some ways the quick arcade experiences are even more important than the big marquee games because they're more likely to be played on a whim for a short period of time, where getting the 360 out of the closet would be a real pain (okay, mine's not in my closet, but the HDMI cord isn't plugged into the TV most of the time.)

Anyway back to Garou, it is a fantastic 2D fighter with a character named Butt and some really excellent sprite work. It may be 17 years old but it has aged very very well. Jeff loves it and you should too. It's only $10 so if you're interested you should give it a shot. Damn Xbox Live Arcade was a fantastic service with a ton of gems on it. I really miss it (For some reason I prefer ports of classic games like Garou or Radiant Silvergun to fresh hot bangers like Organic Panic and Tron Run/r, which apparently have supplanted the classics on XBONE.).