Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Mass Effect 2

Game » consists of 21 releases. Released Jan 26, 2010

After a violent death by an unknown force and a timely reanimation by the human supremacist organization Cerberus, Commander Shepard must assemble a new squad in the seedier side of the galaxy for a suicide mission in the second installment of the "Mass Effect" trilogy.

I'm No Expert, But...

photomic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By photomic

This is a question about how they went about with the new engine for the PS3 version because I'm extremely curious.

I know that this is the Mass Effect 3 engine, but how is that done? Do they have to remake all the assets (character models, weapons, etc)? Or can they port them over to the new engine and tweak them a little?

Thanks for any information you guys can give.

JJWeatherman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 18

#2  Edited By JJWeatherman

Recreating all of the assets seems like WAY too much work. I'm no expert either, though.

deanoxd

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By deanoxd

my guess is once they were bought by EA they had access to everything tech wise about how to work with the PS3 and since its really the unreal engine they just started from there and built it from the ground up. replacing modifying creating everything they needed they need to make their next version on the engine.

Stete

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#4  Edited By Stete

Nah, fundamentally all Mass Effect games have the same engine (Unreal engine 3) so the PS3 Mass Effect 2 should have all the same assets that the PC/360 version had. What they mean by new engine is that the PS3 ME2 would have the tweaks they did for ME3 such as improved lightning, faster load times etc.

shiftymagician

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#5  Edited By shiftymagician