Something went wrong. Try again later

    Non-Standard Difficulty Titles

    Concept »

    Games in which, instead of playing on "Easy" or "Hard", players play on "Marine" or "Way of the Samurai".

    Short summary describing this concept.

    Non-Standard Difficulty Titles last edited by PlamzDooM on 06/18/21 01:03PM View full history


    Non-Standard Difficulty Titles are a long standing tradition in gaming, particularly in the First-Person Shooter genre. Sometimes the alterations are subtle, such as in the Halo franchise, which features normally-named "Easy" and "Normal" difficulties, but "Hard" is replaced with "Heroic", and the hardest difficulty is "Legendary". More often then not, though, all of the difficulty levels receive new names, such as in GoldenEye 007, whose difficulty levels were, from easiest to hardest, "Agent", "Secret Agent", and "00 Agent", with a fourth ultra-hard mode able to be unlocked for each level, known as "007".

    The most famous examples, though, lie in early FPSes such as Wolfenstein 3-D or Doom, in which the easiest difficulty levels tended to mock the players who chose them; Wolf 3-D's easiest mode was called "Can I Play, Daddy?" while Doom's was "I'm Too Young To Die".


    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.