Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

PC

Platform »

The PC (Personal Computer) is a highly configurable and upgradable gaming platform that, among home systems, sports the widest variety of control methods, largest library of games, and cutting edge graphics and sound capabilities.

Why are PC games often cheaper than their console counterparts?

supermariobrah

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By supermariobrah

I am brand new to PC gaming as I have just gotten a computer that is geared toward gaming for the first time in my life.  I have been taking in Steam and looking online for PC games that I have missed over the years.  I noticed that there are many games that are also on consoles, put the price differences are quite radical.  It seems as though the value on PC games lowers rather quickly as apposed to console games that often remain at high prices for a good amount of time.  My question as stated in the title is why are PC games often cheaper than their console counterparts?

Geno

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 15

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By Geno

The marketplace is more competitive, and PC games are primarily sold through digital means which cuts shipping, manufacturing and retailer costs. Publishers actually earn more money, while selling for less, per unit on PC. 

Avatar image for unsolvedparadox
    unsolvedparadox

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By unsolvedparadox
    @Geno said:
    " The marketplace is more competitive, and PC games are primarily sold through digital means which cuts shipping, manufacturing and retailer costs. Publishers actually earn more money, while selling for less, per unit on PC.  "
    Even retail boxed copies of PC games are cheaper, it comes down to an overall market preference for console versions (which in turn is largely due to the much cheaper hardware costs for a decent experience).
    nywt

Forum Posts