Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Sid Meier's Civilization V

Game » consists of 6 releases. Released Sep 21, 2010

Civilization V brings brand new gameplay elements to this beloved franchise, while maintaining the "just one more turn" mentality.

Create Your Own Nation?

Undeadpool

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 20

User Lists: 18

#1  Edited By Undeadpool

I'm fairly new to the Civ series, I played very little Civ 2, 3 and almost none of 4, but I'll tell you what I played a metric TON of back in the day: Master of Orion 2. The two games are somewhat similar, I'd say MOO2 is less involved, but something it did interestingly (you'll pardon any awkward grammar, I just got done with a 4 hour Civ V session...) was let you create your own race. Each race had certain attributes and when you created your own, it assigned a positive or negative point cost to each attribute, allowing you to start with 10 and go up to 20 points. 
    Long story short, do you think this could've been somehow implemented in the Civ series? As a follow-up: if they'd included this in Civ V, I assume just allowing you to cherry-pick two passive advantages and two unique units, what would you have chosen?

alistercat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 27

#2  Edited By alistercat

A big draw and even the tone of Civ 5 is grounded in it's application of real world history. All the bonuses are trying to be as faithful to things that civilization actually did. plus the challenge of not being able to choose your bonuses is part of the experience.

ryanwho

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By ryanwho

Wait for a mod? 
    In a world where you can pick your own perks, someone finds an exploit and now everyone's making the same custom character. There's a lot of nuance to balance here, its not an MMO where you're just clicking on the thing you want to die.

StaticFalconar

Forum Posts

Wiki Points