Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

The Fall Part 2: Unbound

Game » consists of 3 releases. Released Feb 13, 2018

The Fall Part 2: Unbound

Is that even legal? (minor spoilers for 2nd Host section)

BBAlpert

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 16

#1  Edited By BBAlpert

I'm really enjoying the game overall, but one thing that stuck out to me as strange was how the 2nd Host section (the One) seems like it lifted the fighting system straight out of One Finger Death Punch. Like, even down to the "these enemies take 2 hits and these enemies switch sides after dodging your first hit".

Can... can they do that? I haven't finished the game yet, so maybe Silver Dollar Games is mentioned in the credits or something. It just seems pretty egregious. But then I am not a lawyer (also, those few fight scenes combined only make up like 2 minutes of total gameplay, so maybe it's not as big a deal)

bluntmcgee

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By bluntmcgee

@bbalpert:

This was also the first game I thought of when I played that section. I'm not a lawyer, but I'm pretty sure they can do that. It's not like they stole any assets directly and gameplay mechanics are not neccessarily protected as far as I know. I bet there are a thousand clones of One Finger Death Punch. For example, look at the recent Unfinished of Way of the passive Fist. It's also very similar to those mechanics. Or One Hit KO on Steam.

Game Design is iterative and lots of mechanics are very similar to each other and quite hard to protect for a single game. In The Fall it's fine for me, because it is just part of a larger game. You could say it was inspired by other games. It's difficult to discern depending on the game. Did Fortnight steal from PUBG? Kind of, yeah.....but also no, right?

What is "stolen" and what is just "inspired by"? What is "part of a genre" and what is a "clone"?

RK92

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0