Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Don't Starve

Game » consists of 12 releases. Released Apr 09, 2013

A roguelike exploration/survival game from the creators of Shank and Mark of the Ninja.

Any tips?

abendlaender

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By abendlaender

So, I just started playing today and without too much spoilers (cause I think the fun in these games comes from stuff you don't know):

I ran around the first time I played and explored a bit. Well, I explored all there is to explore. I got enough food and stuff from just harvesting what was there, there was no shortage of trees (till I got killed by a treemonster, but I have an idea how to deal with them), I'm just wondering if there is more too this game (well obviously?). Do other characters start on different islands, cause this one was pretty small and there was not much to do. I couldn't build anything usefull cause I couldn't find any monsters to gather silk from and I had the whole map uncovered. I know the maps are random but is this common, that the first character starts on a pretty small, relatively uninteresting island?

Also, how do I use traps?

Game seems fun, I kinda hope that I can build some sort of base at some point but we'll see

Junkerman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 6

#2  Edited By Junkerman

@Abendlaender:You use traps by placing them in an area with the animal you want to trap (Normal traps for bunnies, bird traps for birds etc.) and putting a piece of bait on the trap. Birds like seed, rabbits like carrots etc. You can also put traps in the path of a creature and they can trigger it... I use this method to defeat spiders. Traps are easy to make, I like to place four or five around a spider nest, give it a good whack and lure the spiders into the traps. An excellent way to get monster meat = xp and silk.