One Piece is in a new Golden Age

sombre

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 4

Hi dudes,

So, I don't watch much anime these days. I know it's totally a "medium" and not a genre, but I fell out with it. Which is weird, as I did my entire degree about anime (My thesis was about Posthumanism in Sci-Fi Anime), but I honestly kinda fell out of love with it. Modern tropes/cliches and the general switch to more mass market appeal stuff like those stupid Isekai shows and shows with titles like "I was a hot 16 year old female student but I fell in a pit and now I'm a human fridge" honestly just drove me away

HOWEVER

I have found a shining light in One Piece. I read it religiously for about ten years (From about Skypeia to Dressrosa) and I was totally in love with it. I don't even know what happened, but I just stopped reading one week.

I picked up the anime at Egghead, and oh man, I'm invested

The animation itself is sublime, the story is brilliant, and I really like it.

Honestly, I'm not that into this awakaened Devil Fruit stuff. It seems like power level creep and a false way of making crappy people powerful. I mean I know Rob Lucci is back? Isn't he from 20 years ago?

Is anyone else watching One Piece right now?

chamurai

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

@sombre: I have been a reader for 24 years now and it's had it's ups and downs with the story. I will admit to not reading regularly from about the beginning of the Wa no Kuni arc until the books hit their 100th volume, then I binged until I got caught up again. But I'm back in all the way now.

I have my opinions on power creep but I don't wanna go on a rant. It's is just something that you gotta live with with battle manga from Jump Comics. It's unfortunate that it's there but the numbers gotta keep going up.