Avatar image for holycrapitsadam
holycrapitsadam

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By holycrapitsadam

Increasingly over the past couple of years, I have felt my love/desire to play games fall to the wayside. I have been playing Video Games since I was 3 years old. My parents bought me a NES which I had in my bedroom in 1989 and since that point, I have been a constant gamer. I worked for GameStop for the better part of 6 years (hated it by the way), and have owned almost every console released in last 20 years. I have played a large amount of games across these generations and have a lot of fond memories of late night multiplayer sessions, achieving victory in the face of absolute defeat and building relationships that will stay with me for the rest of my life. I love video games and everything that they have brought me over the last 28 years I have been playing them.

Now I am 30 years old (almost 31) with a 1 year old daughter, a wife, a house and a steady job. I don't have the time to play games nearly as often as I used to and the only time I do have to play them is when my wife and child go to bed but at that point, I am so exhausted that I don't have the energy or desire to pick up the controller. I think that last part; "desire", in particular is the main reason. There has not been a game released in the last couple of years that I can recall that I have had the vigor to continue playing non-stop and that bums me out. I recall in my past, certain games that I had almost an unhealthy obsession with, where I would play them for long periods of time, blow off social engagements just to keep playing, think about them at school or at work, constantly be researching tips on how to beat certain areas/bosses or get hidden items, etc.