Any amateur novelists out there?

Sarge__Gunnerz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

Over the past two years, I've been working on a novel that I hope to finish sometime in the near future. I'm in my last semester of my mechanical engineering degree, and I recently got engaged so it's been difficult to actually find time to write. For me, video games and narrative have always been inextricably linked. Sure there are cases where the story takes a backseat to other aspects of the game, and there are plenty of games where there's no discernible story at all. I'm not going to sit here and argue that an inventive, immersive narrative will always trump engaging, rock solid gameplay, but if I think of all of my favorite games, the reason I can't put them down is the characters and their story. Some prominent ones that come to mind are The Last of Us, Bioshock Infinite, and Braid (to name a very few). To be fair, Braid hooked me with the mechanic too but I will always be a sucker for a good twist. This hunt for a good story is the same reason Lost will forever be my favorite TV show, and movies like Inception, Memento, and Visioneers (yes Visioneers) leave such an impact on me.

I always loved reading as a kid, and I often wrote funny poems in my free time (finding words that rhymed and created a cohesive message was like a puzzle for me). At this point it's difficult to determine if my enjoyment with specific video games grew out of my love of reading a good story or if I just naturally gravitate to those types of games because of how I'm wired. Regardless, all of these elements (movies, TV, books, gaming) have come together to inspire my novel.