Any Art/Music Majors Around? Come talk about it!

citizenjp

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By citizenjp

Well lately in my life I have been confused as to what I really want to study, for I have various talents (lol, not to sound full of myself). I love to draw, been drawing and such ever since I was little and was considering studying Game Art at a couple different media arts schools in my state (FL). BUT...all of a sudden...my love for art was beginning to turn. Not that I had completely given up hope on my ability to create art, but I began to feel like it was not the field of interest I was looking for. I guess I kind of feel intimidated considering you have to be super skilled to get into the game artist status. So, I switched out of that and am currently in a limbo-esque situation which brings me to my next point: music. 

I am a bass player. I have been bassing it up for 6 years and I love every minute of it. I also like to make beats so I pretty much make my own songs now a days and have a good grasp of the structure of song arrangements, key changes, etc. I consider myself  no longer in the n00b stages of bass, but now a Journeyman Bassplayer lol. So here's my issue: I really like to make art and aside from music, all I do is play videogames, which is why I like to draw because I like to draw videogame stuff! But I also feel like music comes more naturally to me in a way. I feel like I can be more creative with music and really get a chance to master it if I study it. But same thing with art, you know? I just don't know what I'd be happier doing because I LOVE VIDEOGAMES and I LOVE MUSIC. So if you can picture a statue of Justice with that balancer thingy? Yeah picture that with a bass guitar on one side and a videogame controller on the other. Currently the musician in me is rising up to the surface.