Does anyone here know Japanese? I could use some advice

Avatar image for deactivated-5f90eabee6bba
deactivated-5f90eabee6bba

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

I have been learning Japanese for like two years, on and off. (I need to stop taking long breaks though, it makes you forget things) Right now I've got about 460 flash cards with kanji on Quizlet and I was reading http://www.guidetojapanese.org/learn/ by Tae Kim to learn grammar and how to speak. The thing I'm missing though is practice. Tae Kim's site gives you some minor homework but it's not really enough. I'm willing to pay for something to help me learn. I've checked out some places online a long time ago but was broke and now I finally have the money to pay for a monthly subscription to something. The sites seemed pretty interactive and useful, at least at the time. Does anyone know of a good "thing" for me to use to help me practice Japanese, whatever it might be?

A couple extra points:

• Rosetta Stone was not useful. Maybe for a Romance language or German but Japanese is just too different compared to English and what with a whole new "alphabet".
  • I looked around in my area and there aren't any tutors or classes to take in person.
  • I don't find Kanji hard to memorize at all. People always said it would be really hard but I haven't found it to be an issue yet. Yeah, I can't write them, but I can easily recognize them. I am kind of running into a little bit of trouble when I hit two that look really similar. Maybe once I learn a few thousand that will be a bigger issue.
  • I had a class on Modern China and seeing a lot of Chinese characters on my professor's powerpoints was cool because I knew the meaning of some of them, thanks to knowing some kanji. Chinese always felt uncrackable as a language.
Naoiko

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#2  Edited By Naoiko
robsamuel

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#3  Edited By robsamuel