Life problems. Need advice from smart duders.

iBushido

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

So this is probably gonna be long and annoying to read. I'll try to keep it simple. Sorry in advance.

I'm 31 years old. Had a shit childhood and got really messed up. Didn't graduate HS, got a GED, worked some shit jobs, tried to get a degree through Devry (huge mistake), and now I'm back to square one. There is nothing on my resume that would get me anything other than some entry level, manual labor job that goes nowhere.

I worked as a security guard for the last 6 years and lived with my girlfriend. I quit that job, we moved out of the city and into the suburbs and I'm currently sitting here in our new apartment all day trying to figure out the best way to learn some kind of programming language so I can ultimately get a coding job.

So far I have learned a tiny bit of HTML and CSS, a fairly good amount of beginner stuff with Javascript, and I finished everything there is to be done with Ruby on codecademy.com. My initial goal was to learn to code for web development, but I found it to be exceedingly difficult to stay motivated, as it really has nothing to offer me other than finding work. However, some other languages also offer the advantage of being able to design games as your job, or in addition to your job as a hobby. This certainly has a much greater appeal and considering I've been able to handle learning this kind of thing thus far, I'm seriously considering shifting gears and learning a language that can also be used for game development.

With that said, I have no idea what I'm doing, no idea which languages are better for that than others, and I have found a lot of contradictory information while researching the subject online. Even just figuring out the differences between C, C++, C#, and Objective-C have been pretty difficult, and that's before I even know for sure that I should be learning a variation of C in the first place.