Avatar image for wrinklydinosaur
WrinklyDinosaur

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hi guys,

I am a 24yo primary (elementary) school teacher in Australia. I have spent the bulk of my short career teaching Kindergarten (first year of school) in various parts of Australia. I was recently contacted by an agent with an interview offer for a very successful school in the heart of London. I had my interview last night and I know I impressed the interviewer. This was backed up by an email that I received from the agent saying that it sounded as though the head teacher wanted to offer me the job.

This is obviously incredibly exciting, but also rather scary. One thing that I need to work out is whether or not it is financially viable to take this position. To this end, I am asking you guys, whether it is feasible on a salary of £28,514 - £38,807 ($43883.76 - $59712.33 USD) with such large renting costs. I am not too good at this and would really appreciate any help. Keep in mind that I will be on the lower side of the salary spectrum.

Thanks

AlexW00d

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#2  Edited By AlexW00d

Ugh fuckin' CSRF token error nonsense ate my post.

Basically yes that's feasible, that's like 25% more than the rest of the country earns on average, and they wouldn't offer you a salary you couldn't live off, especially if you're coming from abroad.

Where's the school? That's the main thing here. London is the most expensive city in the world so yeah you probably won't be rolling in the dough but you can make it stretch further depending on where you decide to live.

WrinklyDinosaur

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Thanks for that man :) It is encouraging to know that it could work out. As far as I can see (from google maps) it seems like it is in a suburb called Lisson Grove (?) with the closest train station being Edgware Rd (?).

deerokus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3