So, I wrote a story I am moderately proud of!

Mmmslash

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

#1  Edited By Mmmslash

How folks,

Some of you around here know me, and some of those know that I am an amateur writer. For those who don't, I write a lot of short fiction, most of wish would fall into the horror category. Anyway, it's now in a contest on Reddit, and I figured I could include it here, and if anyone thought it deserved it, maybe they could toss me an upvote? I'd really like to win, to be honest, since it would guarantee a reading on the NoSleep podcast.

Voting: The story is named "I'm No Angel" in the comment section. Just an upvote for that comment is enough. Please don't downvote any competition, though!

http://www.reddit.com/r/nosleep/comments/mmxit/noveember_nosleep_writing_contest_official_voting/

Anyway, the story is included below:

It's 3:17 in the morning, and I leap from the bunk as the tone rings. To an outsider, they might just sound like a series of beeps, like a more elaborate form of morse code, but to me, and to folks like me, it sounds as clear as if it were announced over the loudspeaker. Two short beeps, one long, two fast. This is what it sounds like when EMS Rig 6 is brought into service.

My shoes are on my feet before the tone even stops, and I am out the door prepared in under half a minute. We don't need to inspect the rig to make sure we were ready, we do it at the beginning and end of every shift. Lord forbid you arrive on scene and find yourself without Oxygen, or airways. I'm in the passenger seat a full 15 seconds before my partner, Jonathan Torres, a man who always looks better than he is. You have to give the man credit, it's admirable how he can hide himself behind hundred dollar sunglasses and hair gel.