Too Poor For Skyrim

tpundsack

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 1

Edited By tpundsack

So everyone is playing Skyrim and raving! The problem is that I haven't even finished Fallout 3 or Oblivion (both of which I bought on a Steam Holiday Sale almost a year ago....). I don't know if I can justify throwing down 60 bucks for another huge ass game... To try to take the edge off I started playing Fallout 3 again. The game still amazes me (which only makes me want to play Skyrim more). I have spent 20 hours playing and I still haven't moved the main story ahead at all. The magnitude of these types of games is overwhelming to think about.

I remember the first time I was playing Fallout 3 I headed west from Megaton to start out because it seemed as good of a direction as any. I knew nothing about the game. I played for about 10 hours and finally got a quest to head East. I remember going up over a hill and seeing what turned out to be the Washington Monument slowly rising in the background. As I crested the hill I saw the ruins of DC with all the monuments along The National Mall. I didn't even know the game was set in DC! I was blown away! I do feel I will miss the real world setting when I (eventually) move onto Skyrim, but the grittiness of post-nuclear-war DC also is wearing me down. So far, and I don't expect any difference as I continue, there are no 'nice' places in the game. This probably wouldn't bring me down as much as it is if I wasn't playing 5-6 hours at a time. I guess the fantasy world of Skyrim is calling to me... I'm sure I will answer sooner than I expect.

tpundsack

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#1  Edited By tpundsack