Web development help (also any opinions on codeacademy.com?)

Aegon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By Aegon

I'm using code academy right now for Javascript and I'm wondering if this is a viable way to learn. I've gone through a bit more than a quarter of the material so far and I'm not sure if it's as detailed as it should be. I'm aiming to be a web developer, whether full-stack, back-end or front, I'm not sure yet, but what I've got on the agenda so far is:

• HTML/CSS: I have some basic knowledge of it, but I don't feel particularly confident in this area.
  • Python/Django (maybe flask?): I took a python course, so I'm pretty familiar with the basics, but I still want to brush up on it with LPTHW and then move on to Django (any advice on this end would be much appreciated).
  • postgreSQL or mySQL: The Django book recommends postgres, so I might go with that. And again, I've heard databases can be tricky, so advice is appreciated.
  • Javascript/ jQuery /Ember: So as you can see, I'm starting with Javascript and if you think I should be prioritizing knowledge of a particular framework, then do tell.
  • Learning about servers and deploying and all that: This comes last.

That's a lot of stuff! There's so much jargon that it's difficult for someone who's not terribly experienced to keep his head above water. Lots of languages, frameworks, APIs (don't even have a firm grasp of what this is), etc.

I always felt like what I wanted to do for a living was something creative, and I was enjoying quite a bit of the coding I was doing in my Python class. But comparing that with what I actually need to learn... It's like being focused on a hill you need to get over and realizing there's a mountain range up ahead. I want to know what I'm doing and where I'm heading. I really want to tackle this challenge and do this thing (I also don't want to be a bum). So help is welcomed!