Will installing hundreds of Fonts slow down my computer?

golguin

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 10

#1  Edited By golguin

My old computer had hundreds of fonts installed with hundreds more still available that I simply hadn't installed yet. I'm now faced with a new computer with none of my old fonts installed and I have no feasible way to find out what fonts I used to have install.

Will my computer experience noticeable slowdown if I simply install all my available fonts? I have hundreds of fonts.

This is my system.

Acer Aspire E 15 E5-575G-53VG Laptop, 15.6 Full HD (Intel Core i5, NVIDIA 940MX, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD, Windows 10)

Monkeyman04

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

I don't see why they should slow your rig down. I'm no expert (so take this with a grain of salt), but from my experience fonts don't do much to performance.

jeff

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 20

I don't have an answer for you, but I was just wondering about this recently. Back on Win 95, it'd definitely make your machine boot slower. Not sure if that's still the case.

Avatar image for citizencoffeecake
citizencoffeecake

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#4  Edited By citizencoffeecake

Whatcha doin with all them fonts bro? All ya need is comic sans, papyrus, and wingdings.

Seriously though I did a little googling as I don't know either and it seems like your PC might be a little slower on startup and programs/applications that make use of said fonts like photoshop, Word, etc.. might load slower but you should otherwise be fine.

OurSin_360

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

If you had them on your old computer they shouldnt do much to mess up the new one.

golguin

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

If you had them on your old computer they shouldnt do much to mess up the new one.