I should probably upgrade my PC but not sure where to start.

Devil240Z

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

My PC is getting a little long in the tooth and I'm starting to want to play some more PC games here and there so I'm thinking I could do with some kind of performance bump. I have been telling my self for years that I was just gonna ride it out until I could build a whole new rig but IDK when thats gonna be realistic. So I thought I could spend some cash on my existing PC and hopefully extend its life a bit. But I'm not sure if there is anything economical that will really make a difference. I don't think I wanna spend more than 200-300 bucks(US$) so maybe I'm asking too much here.

Current Specs are: CPU:AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz. GPU: ATi HD5770. RAM: 4gb DDR3.

Pretty shit by modern standards. I'm no expert on this sort of thing but I was hoping I could just drop in some more ram and maybe a slightly better video card and get a decent boost. What are my options here guys?
Again this is just a bandaid until I can afford to build a whole new rig.

Sinusoidal

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

An R9 380 and 8 gigs of RAM would be my recommendation.

Devil240Z

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By Devil240Z

Ok one thing about ram. Ive always felt misinformed on how it works. Do I need to get 8 new gigs of it or 4 more to add on. do they have to be a "matching set" or something? I'm pretty sure right now I have 2x2gb sticks in there right now.

Also I looked up that video card and again I have no idea on this stuff but it says its PCI Express 3.0 and looked up my motherboard and it says that its only got PCI Express 2.0 slots.

my MB: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131402

Mirado

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Mirado