What are your thoughts on the Series S?

conker

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

I know we're still deep in the cross-gen years, but I have been thinking about picking up a Series S. I am mainly thinking of picking it up to supplement my PS5, but I am a bit worried about it's ability to maintain a higher framerate (framerate > resolution forever!). For those of you who picked one up, what are your thoughts? Should I pull the trigger, or wait for a series X?

Thank you!

brian_

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

#2  Edited By brian_

I've got a Series S, but I'm not an expert on framerate stuff. Every game I've played so far seems fine to my untrained eye. I haven't noticed any difference between playing games there as opposed to on PS5. Not sure how that will change as the generation goes on, but I figure as long as it plays the smaller indie stuff on Game Pass, it was worth the price for my own needs. Plus, as of right now, Xbox has a pretty good refund policy, so even if I did purchase a game there that ran like garbage, it's pretty easy to get it refunded and buy it on PS5.

ll_Exile_ll

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By ll_Exile_ll

I do not have a Series S, but as regular viewer of Digital Foundry, it definitely seems like that machine is struggling to keep up with the Series X and PS5 in some pretty key ways. As someone that values framerate and image quality, I certainly would not consider getting a Series S.

Casse1berry

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By Casse1berry

For me the loss of a disc drive and getting half the hard drive space (only 512GB vs 1 TB) makes it really hard to recommend. I've been thinking about one for my daughter in the future (she's 8 years old) and I think it would be perfect for her. Anybody else though.... I don't know. I do love how they look though. I saw one in person the other day and was shocked by how small it was.

Jabels1020