Something went wrong. Try again later

    Chaos Code

    Game » consists of 2 releases. Released Aug 04, 2011

    A 2D fighting game developed by Taiwanese studio FK Digital in 2011.

    Short summary describing this game.

    Chaos Code last edited by Nes on 05/15/20 04:10PM View full history


    Chaos Code is a 2D sci-fi fantasy fighting game developed and released by FK Digital for arcades (using PC-based Sega RingWide hardware) in Japan on August 4, 2011.

    The first game by Taiwanese studio FK Digital, Chaos Code takes place in the future, where mankind has flourished and developed an infinitely-sustainable power source, known as "chaotics". When scientists who study it disappear and a mysterious set of words "CHAOS CODE" come into play, the Earth Union Government begins a bounty for solving the mystery.

    A standard four-button fighting game, it is known for its "Skill Select" and "Bounce Select" systems, where players can choose two of four additional special moves or super moves for their character, as well as their forward dashing mechanics ("Run" for more-controllable running and "Step" for quick hops). It was later expanded upon in its 2013 sequel, Chaos Code: New Sign of Catastrophe.

    It was later ported to the PlayStation 3, released digitally by Arc System Works in Asia (on December 19, 2012), Japan (on April 3, 2013), North America (on September 3, 2013), and Europe (on March 26, 2014).

    Game Modes

    Story Mode

    Play through the story of all Chao Code characters.

    Versus Mode

    One-on-one battle against another human player or against the game's computer.

    Survival Mode

    The player battles through a number of computer opponents until their fighter runs out of stamina.

    Practice Mode

    This mode allows the player to practice their fighter against a dummy. The player can adjust the dummy's settings, such as guard, recovery, stance, etc., to their preference.



    Chaos Code utilizes an eight-way directional movement to move the fighter back and forth, block, dash, jump, and execute special and super moves.

    Normal Attacks

    Chaos Code uses four buttons to execute normal attacks.

    • A - Weak Punch
    • B - Weak Kick
    • C - Strong Punch
    • D - Strong Kick

    Normal Commands

    The fighter performs a particular action when the following buttons are pressed together.

    Forward Roll

    Command: A + B

    The fighter will perform a ground forward roll.


    Command: A + B upon knock back or before hitting the ground

    The fighter will quickly recover to a fighting position.


    Command: A +C

    The fighter will grab and throw their opponent to the ground. Pressing back with A + C will make the fighter perform a backward throw.

    Chaos Gauge Commands

    The following commands require an amount of chaos meter available for the fighter to perform the following actions.

    Guard Break Attack

    Command: Forward + C + D; Consumes 1 Chaos Meter

    The fighter will perform an unblockable attack to the opponent, causes the opponent to be frozen in place if they are hit.

    Tactical Guard

    Command: C + D; Consumes 1/2 Chaos Meter

    The fighter will counter an opponent's attack if the command is timed properly.

    EX Special Move

    Consumes 1/2 Chaos Meter

    The fighter will perform an EX version of their special move.

    Ultimate Chaos

    Consumes 1 Chaos Meter

    The fighter's super move. Each fighter has two super moves.

    Destruction Chaos

    Consumes 3 Chaos Meters

    The fighter's ultimate super move.

    Chaos Shift

    Command: A+C during Ultimate Chaos; Consumes 1 Chaos Meter

    This command will cancel the fighter's ultimate chaos attack and return them back to a neutral state.

    Chaos Cancel

    Consumes 2 Chaos Meters

    The command allows the fighter to cancel a special move action into an ultimate chaos.

    Exceed Chaos

    Command: B + C; Consumes 3 Chaos Meters

    The fighter will enter in exceed chaos state, where their chaos gauge changes into a time gauge.

    The fighter in the exceed chaos state are given four special properties.

    1. Their stun gauge is reset back to zero.
    2. All chaos consuming moves can be used at all times.
    3. Stamina regenerates.
    4. All normal attacks are cancel-able.

    Once the time gauge for exceed chaos runs out, the fighter's chaos gauge enter into overheat mode where it cannot use any chaos gauge commands and accumulate any chaos meter until the meter cools down.

    Skill Selects, Run / Bounce

    Chaos Code allows the player to choose the following options after the character is chosen.

    Skill Selects

    The player can choose two out of the four additional skills for their character. The top two skills are additional special moves while the bottom two are additional super moves. The two chosen additional skills will have their commands displayed under the chaos gauge during battle.

    Run / Bounce

    The player can choose the forward dash preference for the character. The run option will have the fighter run along the ground, while the bounce option will make the fighter hop forward.


    The game includes 11 playable characters and 2 unplayable bosses. A hidden alternate version of the main protagonist was added in a later update, while both boss characters were later made playable in the PS3 version.

    • Hikaru Otagi (with a hidden "MG" version added in a later update)
    • Kagari
    • Cerberus Black
    • Celia
    • Vein
    • Hermes Gberardini
    • Catherine
    • Cthylla
    • Bravo Peperoncine
    • Cait Whisker & Sith Whisker
    • Rui Mishima
    • Celia II (sub-boss, with an alternate "Celia II Kai" version as an unlockable in the PS3 version)
    • Kudlak Aima (final boss, with an alternate "Kudlak-Sin" version as an unlockable in the PS3 version)

    This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

    Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

    Comment and Save

    Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.