Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Disgaea

Franchise »

A strategy RPG franchise by Nippon Ichi. Stories usually involve demons and the underworld.

Disgaea 1 vs Disgaea 5?

nicksmi56

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By nicksmi56

So, for those who don't know, Disgaea 1's getting a remake for PS4 and Switch. So that makes 2 Disgaea games available for Nintendo's hybrid.

I'm currently playing 4 as my first Disgaea game and I'm quite enjoying it so far. Not too far in, but I can already see myself losing track of time during grinding sessions and not wanting to put the game down, so of course I'd love a portable version.

Problem is that I'm a newbie to this franchise and I don't think these two would typically be compared to each other so looking it up would be pointless. I'm not sure how popular the franchise is so this may not get a lot of replies, but I figured asking you lovely people would be worth a shot.

So which do you think is the better investment?

Zeik

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Disgaea 1 and Disgaea 4 are the two best entries in the series imo.

5 is just okay.

BabyChooChoo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 2

#3  Edited By BabyChooChoo

Disgaea 5 is, mechanically, probably the best in the series imo. Story and characters though? Ehhhhh, I've played a lot of NIS games so my opinion may be colored differently because of exposure, but I think in those aspects it's some of the worst in the series. Sooooo depends on what you want out of it. Sounds like you lean more towards the mechanics so I'd go for 5.

sparky_buzzsaw

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 39

User Lists: 42

@zeik said:

5 is just okay.