Dishonoring Dishonored?

Avatar image for daemonofthewood
DaemonoftheWood

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 17

User Lists: 0

I started playing Dishonored DE last week. After a few hours in, I just wasn't hooked. I'm not necessarily saying it was the game as it could have been any number of factors (thinking about work, thinking about the GiantBomb news, etc). After taking a break over the weekend, I decided to switch it up and play Shadowrun: Dragonfall instead. Already I am more excited about sitting down and playing.

My question: Should I return to Dishonored after finishing Shadowrun? It's a widely acclaimed game that maybe I just didn't give enough of a chance. Thoughts?

SethMode

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

I've played through Dishonored and Dishonored 2 three times each and adore them both, so I'm obviously going to say you should come back to it/them (I'd also glowingly recommend Prey while I'm at it). However, if that "immersive sim" style isn't your type of game, or if you don't like stealth games, or if you're purely in it for the story (Prey's is good, Dishonored and Dishonored 2 are okay, IMO), I'm not sure it will ever really hook you. I guess my advice would be, give it another go, but if it isn't clicking it isn't clicking. Never need to force it. I've been trying to play Nier: Automata for literally years now and still can't seem to get into it, for example. At this point I'm not sure I'll ever get there.

Dragonfall is awesome, btw. I hope you enjoy it. My favorite of those games (although I also really enjoyed Hong Kong as well).

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

Dishonored is critically acclaimed because of its large but well-designed intuitive levels and open-ended approach to gameplay design. In other words, there's always more than one way to do something and no way is more valid than the others.